Articles

About Z.Sharon Glantz

In Uncategorized on February 20, 2010 by lailuloon

Z. Sharon Glantz Playwright Oxymoronic Fusion

Z. Sharon Glantz (aka: Lailu Loon) writes and produces virtual theater, publishes books and offers innovations in multi-media through The Sanity Patrol Press

She specializes in projects with untapped target audiences:

  • Virtual playwright/director if I Gave at The Office, on Second Life, bringing together actors from all over the world. A machinima (cinematic term for films using virtual worlds) of the production can be seen at www.ideajuice.com/machinima.html. She is working on her next production Oxymoronic Fusion, to premiere in April 2010 and has long term plans for a mixed reality presentation using Second Life and live theater.
  • Resident playwright for Plays That Work, presenting educational full length plays on issues of diversity, sexual harassment, HIV/AIDS and aging as part of the training programs for corporations, educational institutions and government agencies. Past clients include the Washington State Department of Information Services, City of Seattle Parks & Recreation, Puget Sound Power & Light, the Bonneville Power Administration, the University of Washington Executive MBA Program and Washington Mutual Bank.
  • Scriptwriter of the orientation video State of Washington Apprentice in the Trades Program orientation video, done in a reality show format (before reality shows)
  • Scriptwriter of a laser show on the history of Singapore for the educational system in Singapore
  • Writer and developer of the original production of Through The Eyes Of A Friend, a multi-media presentation using a live actor and video on the holocaust for high schools
  • Co-author of Stages of Ages: A Manual of Corrective Parenting in collaboration with Elaine Child-Gowell Ph.D.   Pieces from the book were turned into two one-act plays that received best of festival awards at New City Theater in Seattle and The Storefront Theater in Portland.

Professional activities include:

  • Program director/board member for the Pacific Northwest Writers Association
  • Founder and president of the Northwest Playwrights Guild
  • Legal assistant in corporate securities and family law

What drew you into Second Life™?

For four plus years, I spent an inordinate amount of time on AOL in the early days. Soon after joining, I went into a comprehensive training with OMNI Magazine Online to lead topical chats. Because I’m a multi-tasker and playwright, I took well to the text format. I went on to lead chats for OMNI and Parascope. I also led one for The Writer’s Club, eventually managing the 40 other chats in that forum. OMNI and The Writer’s Club left AOL for the ‘net. I worked with OMNI, but the interface was not very good. The Writer’s Club transformed into iUniverse. And then AOL changed their format. Although I continue to believe that online communities contain relatively sane people, I was one of those that met a sociopath that took me down for a few years. Such is life.

After leaving AOL, I determined to write a novel using narrative, email, chat and instant messages (and completed 50 pages). However, something wasn’t right about that project, so I set it aside.

I discovered Second Life after hearing a little something about it on the radio. Like most noobies, I pursued the social/sex scene. I also discovered various communities and started the Meaning of Life Chat at the Mystic Academy. The venue changed, but the chat continued for 1 1/2 years (until I burned out). So, what I’d lost after leaving AOL, I reembraced on SL — and so much more. The visual component of SL continues to amaze me. I’ve discovered new parts of myself since joining SL.  Since then, I’ve dived into the performance scene.

Can you tell me about Oxymoronic Fusion and what was the inspiration?

Once upon a time I was an astrologer and tarot reader. Although I loved the studies, I didn’t love doing readings. My background in psychology (I co-wrote Stages of Ages with Elaine Childs-Gowell Ph.D.) precluded predicting the future. Symbolic languages are that, languages. However, my studies extended to a wide range of belief systems, including ten years being part of a circle performing rituals from many different cultures, largely pagan.  Oxymoronic Fusion was the result of these studies. Oxy went through three public readings (and rewrites) in Seattle theaters over a three year period.

At this point in my life, I’m proud to consider myself a fickle agnostic. When someone asks, “why are we here?”, my answer is “I don’t know and I don’t care that I don’t know, so I can believe whatever I want whenever I want and continue to explore.”

What challanges/advantages do you find producing a play in SL as opposed to RL?

Theater on SL is in the baby stages. Production costs are minimal and there is a tremendous talent pool of actors and burgeoning actors. This frees up the creativity of those who might not normally put themselves out there before an audience. Many use a conventional proscenium and other recognizable techniques. We’re only beginning to scratch the surface of how to shape this new art form. SL demands performance integrates elements of theater, film and games.

I’m lucky in that I have original material to offer. I’m also dedicated to the idea of playing to SL audiences as well as non-SL audiences. These are two very different audiences. Ultimately, I see mixed reality theater that incorporates both worlds, performed live in RL and on SL.

What is next for this play? Can we look forward to some sort of RL production or Machinima?

The performance on SL will be streamed to an audience of Open Circle Theater in Seattle, where I serve as managing director. CodeWarrior will film the play for streaming purposes. Although there will be set changes, the focus of the camera will be stationary. The goal is to maintain the integrity of a live theater experience while capitalizing on the visual wonders of SL. As far as a RL production, who knows?

Anything else you would like folks to know?

We have only just begun creating the new art forms that will evolve as virtual worlds evolve. As with the internet, the technical possibilities are growing faster than the content. Additionally, we are only beginning to develop a language with which to develop and critique the work of these new art forms. I love being in the forefront of this new frontier.

One Response to “About Z.Sharon Glantz”

  1. Wow! Congratulations on your success Luna! I love reading things like this. It makes me happy to know that what we set out to do in the beginning is still around and just wow! 🙂

    I hope to return someday. I just reinstalled SL and may try out for the play, if not i will definitely try and watch it.

    Upo.

    And…omg..you are sooo PRETTY.

Leave a Reply

